The 4th Annual Comadres and Compadres Writers Comference

great stories happen to those who tell them

EARLY BIRD DISCOUNT DEADLINE IS AUGUST 15TH, 2015

What: Comadres and Compadres Writers Conference

The 4th annual Comadres and Compadres Writers Conference will provide Latino writers with access to published Latino authors as well as agents and editors who have a proven track record of publishing Latino books. We invite you to join us as a sponsor, advertiser, and/or attendee.

When: Saturday, October 3, 2015

Where: The New School, New York, NY

Who: Cristina García, author of King of Cuba, will serve as keynote speaker. Panelists include agents and editors who are actively seeking Latino writers. For more details regarding the conference program, visit http://lascomadres.com/latinolit/2015-ccwc/  

Testimonials:

“The Comadres conference is a wonderful, supportive place to grow as a writer. The organizers are warm and welcoming, and the editors and agents are generous with their creative insight. Everyone at the conference is clearly eager to bring forward Latino voices. Because of this focus, I find I spend less time explaining Latinidad and why it is important to me, and more time delving deep into the craft of writing. Through the conference, I met both my agent and the editor who later acquired my first picture book which will be published by Lee & Low Books. Best of all, I connected with other writers. The writers I met at the conference span the diversity of the Latino community, and share my passion for writing and children’s literature. Attending the conference has become a tradition I look forward to every year.”

—Emma Otheguy

“I’m a huge fan of this conference! I pitched my book project to two agents, one of whom later offered me representation and succeeded in getting me a book contract with Kyle Books, a small publisher based in London. I couldn’t have done it without the Comadres and Compadres Writers Conference. Overall, it was a really inspiring, action-packed day, and I would highly recommend it to any writer who wants to network and learn more about the craft.”

—Lesley Tellez, author of Eat Mexico, http://www.lesleytellez.com/

“I am thrilled to tell you that as a result of my participation in the Comadres and Compadres Writers Conference, I have an agent, Diane Stockwell from Globo Libros Literary Management. She sold my book to Johanna Castillo at Atria Book, a division of Simon & Schuster. I’m so grateful for the conference and for everyone involved. It was worth every penny.”

—Maritere Rodriguez Bellas, author of How to Raise Bilingual Kids, https://www.facebook.com/maritererbellas

FOR MORE INFO: Visit http://lascomadres.com/latinolit/2015-ccwc/ . Early bird discount deadline is 8/15/15.

Wishing you good news,

Marcela Landres

Cofounder, Comadres and Compadres Writers Conference

http://www.marcelalandres.com/

Leave a Reply

